• Zamora, Matabuena bag PSL President’s Trophy

    President’s Trophy awardees Sean Terence Zamora (left) and Carmenrose Matabuena. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    President’s Trophy awardees Sean Terence Zamora (left) and Carmenrose Matabuena. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas and Carmenrose Matabuena of University of the East claimed the President’s Trophy awards after earning highest FINA (International Swimming Federation) points in their respective divisions in the 80th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series dubbed as the Vice Mayor Isko Moreno Top 16 Long Course Swimming Meet held at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool in Vito Cruz, Manila.

    The 14-year-old Zamora got 555 points in winning the boys’ 14 years 100m freestyle gold medal in 57.06 seconds while Matabuena earned 548 points when she ruled the girls’ 15-over 100m freestyle in 1:03.61.

    Zamora and Matabuena received P1,500 each for winning the prestigious award.

    “We are happy to see that older swimmers are aiming for the highest FINA points to get the President’s Trophy. They are motivated to receive the huge trophy and additional perks of 1,500 pesos,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    “The older swimmers who are in college now are trying to make it to World University Games scheduled in 2017. I would like to congratulate Carmen Rose Matabuena and Sean Terence Zamora for their impressive showing this edition,” she added.

    The Cavite Sailfish Swim Club of coach Edwin Valdez bagged the overall title with 526 points while the Diliman Preparatory School Swim Team of coach Ava Dimalanta (385) and Marikina Aquabears of coach Joel Villa (313) placed second and third, respectively.

    Rounding up the Top 10 teams were MCUR3 Aquaspeed Sailfish (306), Joey Andaya Seagulls Swim Team (283), Aklan Swimming Team (255), Wesleyan College of Manila (249), SJB Butterfly of Novaliches (159), Paul Swim Club (107) and Elite Swimming Team (95).

    The PSL now goes to Davao del Norte for the 2015 PSL Davao Swim Meet on August 5 at the Tagum City Sports Complex then in Bicol for the 3rd El Presidente Swim Cup on August 22 at the Mariner’s Polytechnic Colleges Foundation Pool in Legazpi City.

    The PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.