Zamora, Pacheco bag Presidential Trophy


Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas and Andrea Jheremy Pacheco of Susan Papa Swim Academy bagged the Presidential Trophy awards after earning highest International Swimming Federation (FINA) points in the 89th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series – Mayor Romulo “Kid” Pena Swim Meet held at the Makati Aquatic Sports Arena.

Based on FINA points system, Zamora registered 569 points in topping the boys’ 15-over 100m butterfly (1:00.09) edging Lans Rawlin Donato who submitted 563 (boys’ 15-over 50m butterfly, 27.15), Sean Elijah Enero, who had 557 (boys’ 15-over 50m butterfly, 27.26) and Jux Keaton Solita who got 541 (boys’ 15-over 200m freestyle, 2:05.15).

Handled by veteran mentor Alex Papa, Pacheco gained 554 points when she ruled the girls’ 15-over 50m freestyle in 28.88 seconds.

She defeated Carmenrose Matabuena’s 523 (girls’ 15-over 100m freestyle, 1:04.62), Julienne Torres’ 466 (girls’ 15-over 200m breaststroke, 2:59.43) and Samantha Ibe’s 462 (girls’ 15-over 50m freestyle, 30.68).

Zamora and Pacheco pocketed the P1,500 cash rewards.

MCUR3 Aquaspeed Sailfish of Richard Robles took the overall championship title with 807 points followed by Diliman Preparatory School of Ed Mascardo (693) and Wesleyan College of Manila of Jeffrey Medrano (647).

Also in the Top 10 were Aqua Bats (297), Marikina Aqua Bears (276), Club Manila East Swim Team (274), Camp Aguinaldo Streamline (216), Malabon Swim Club (213), Philippine Navy Dependent (170) and Joey Andaya Seagulls (168).

“It our first National Series this year and we’re happy that a lot of records were broken. We would like to thank the City Government of Makati headed by Mayor Kid Pena,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

PSL shifts its focus on the 2016 Tokyo Nationals Swimming Championship scheduled on February 4 to 10 in Japan.

Ten tankers led by Zamora and Female Swimmer of the Year top candidate Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh will spearhead the country’s campaign along with Donato, Solita, Drew Benett Magbag, Marc Bryan Dula, Joey del Rosario, Lowenstein Julian Lazaro, Martin Pupos and John Leo Paul Salibio.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (FESSAP), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.