Zamora, Soguilon named Swimmers of the Year

Kyla Soguilon

Kyla Soguilon

Philippine Swimming League (PSL) declared Sean Terence Zamora (boys) and Kyla Soguilon (girls) as the 2014 Swimmers of the Year after their impressive campaigns both in local and international tournaments.

Martin Jacob Pupos of Elite Swimming Team and Aubrey Ybanez of Cavite Sailfish got the Rookie of the Year honors for boys and girls, respectively.

“I’d like to congratulate all winners and nominees. This is the end result of one year of hard work. We chose our nominees based on their performance, attitude and we completely evaluated their participation where we can find out their consistency. The PSL made extra effort in unifying their relatives all over the world as well as friends, fans and even enemies,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Sean Terence Zamora

Sean Terence Zamora

Zamora, a 14-year-old Grade 9 student at University of Santo Tomas and a product of MCU-R3 Swim Team, made an impact in the Indian Ocean All-Stars Challenge in Australia, Hong Kong Stingrays Swim Meet and Singapore Swimming competition, having won the Most Outstanding Swimmer (MOS) awards in those competitions.

He also broke two national records—the 50-meter backstroke and 200m Individual Medley.

Based on criteria, Zamora earned a total of 73 percent to beat Michael Gabriel Lozada of Aklan Swim Team (70) and Pupos (65), and other candidates Mhilcoloe Abina of Elite Swim Team and Daryl Concepcion of Diliman Preparatory School.

For her part, Soguilon, a pride of Aklan, made her presence felt in international competitions in Cape Town South Africa, Hong Kong, Singapore and Thailand. She was a consistent MOS awardee in PSL Leg Series, winning 13 times and broke a number records.

Soguilon accumulated 79 percent, just five point ahead of second placer Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, who competed in South Africa and was adjudged as the Darling of the Crowd being the youngest participant.

Mojdeh made a history by winning the PSL’s first gold medal in the 2014 Singapore Midget Meet. She was the MOS in Singapore and Thailand meets and had 12 MOS PSL trophies.

The other nominees were Angelica Mae Medrano, Denjylie Cordero, Jesreel Francisco, Charize Esmero, Aubrey Tom, Bela Magtibay, Franchesca Ezzabella Joves and Mary Rose.

On the other hand, Pupos had impressive showing in Australia, Singapore and Thailand, and won seven MOS awards in the PSL Leg Series.

“There might be some swimmers that exhibited well based on performance but due to lack of participation, they failed the criteria for nomination. We wish well everyone for year 2015, and we are now focused in our Universiade participation,” stressed Papa.

Pupos scored 65 percent, way ahead of Rio Lorenzo Malapitan, Rafael Lentejas 3rd, Gregg Marasigan, Carlos Joaquin Arenas, Ytthnmthw Orellana, Ferdinand IanTrinidad and Joey del Rosario.

Ybanez had 61 percent, edging Aalia Jaire Espejo, Cassandra Hazel Hutchings, Davidica Salaya, Maria Gia Hilado and Aidepp de Luna.

“It is sad that when coaches try to instill discipline in athlete, some parents find it objectionable. And that is when the athletes performance in certain occasions start to decline. After few victories, some parents think they are better than coaches. I have seen the rise and fall of athletes and more often than not, the decline in performance was always triggered, precipitated by a severe attitude problem,” said former senator Nikki Coseteng.

All results are final, according to Papa.
The other awardees are Edwin Valdez and Richard Robles (Coaches of the Year), and Chloe Fabic and Jeffrey Hirao (Most Improved).

The awarding ceremony will be held in Boracay in April.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.