Sunday, February 28, 2021

20 tankers bag MOS plum in ‘Kid’ Peña Swim Meet


Latest Stories

Cuatro dethrones Taduran, wins IBF minimum weight title

Rene Mark Cuatro is the new International Boxing Federation (IBF) minimum weight champion. In an all-Filipino clash, Cuatro beat Pedro...

Abanse Negrense vs Sta. Lucia in PSL beach volley semis

THE Abanse Negrense and Sta. Lucia teams are set to clash in the semifinal round of the Philippine Superliga (PSL)...

PH logs highest number of Covid cases in 4 months

THE Department of Health (DoH) said the Philippines logged 2,921 cases of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) on Saturday,...

Jeremy Lin cries foul over ‘coronavirus’ slur

SAN FRANCISCO: Warriors G League guard Jeremy Lin shared on social media that he experienced an act of racism...

House panel suspends PDEA-PNP shootout probe

THE House Committee on Dangerous Drugs will “temporarily suspend” its investigation into the shootout incident between the Philippine National...

Philippine Swimming League President Susan Papa and Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa with the Most Outstanding Swimmer awardees. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO
Philippine Swimming League President Susan Papa and Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa with the Most Outstanding Swimmer awardees. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Twenty tankers were bagged the Most Outstanding Swimmer (MOS) awards in the 89th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series – Mayor Romulo “Kid” Peña Swim Meet held at the Makati Aquatic Sports Arena in Makati City.

Promising swimmers Estelle Margaret Mendez of Academy for Holistic Learning (girls’ 7) and Trump Christian Luistro of Albay Falcon Swim Club (boys’ 7) led the winners after ruling their respective age bands.

Mendez pocketed two golds (200m Individual Medley and 50m freestyle) and two bronzes (50m backstroke and 50m butterfly) while Luistro dominated the 50m butterfly, 50m freestyle and 50m breaststroke, then finished second in the 50m backstroke.

Also winning MOS trophies were Female PSL Swimmer of the Year top candidate Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paraña¬que (girls’ 9), Marc Bryan Dula of Weissenheimer Academy (boys’ 8), Lans Rawlin Donato of University of the Philippines (boys’ 15-over), Jerard Dominic Jacinto of University of the East (boys’ 14) and Finn Jason Lock of Aqua Bats (boys’ 9).

The other Zab Eugenio (girls’ 6-under), Raniel Bautista (boys’ 6-under), Heather White (girls’ 8), Joanna Amor Cervas (girls’ 10), Eirik Judel Rivera (boys’ 10), Kyla Soguilon (girls’ 11), Alexander Lamb (boys’ 11), Kyla Mana¬guelod (girls’ 12), Zachie Galle¬gos (boys’ 12), Aliana Bequillo (girls’ 13), Nigel Anthony Romey (boys’ 13), Felice Alexis Reyes (girls’ 14) and Carmenrose Matabuena (girls’ 15-over).


There are 15 new records established in the competition – four coming from Mojdeh, who is revving up for the 2016 Tokyo National Swimming Championship to be held on February 4 to 10 in Japan.

“It is amazing how swimmers continue to improve and break records every swimming competition. New faces are coming and after a few months, they evolved. We will continue to motivate and inspire these young swimmers,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (FESSAP), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).



Today's Front Page