27.5 C
Friday, April 10, 2020
Home Campus Press 25th year of the Teacher Education Council

25th year of the Teacher Education Council



THE CELEBRATION of the 25th founding anniversary of the Teacher Education Council (TEC), with the theme “TEC @ 25: One Step Backward; Two Steps Forward,” will be held early evening today, Dec. 5, 2019. The main objective of the celebration is to recognize the contributions of Council Members since 1994 to the present. We interrupt our presentation of the Goethe Institut’s science festivals, begun in last week’s topic, and invite our readers to join virtually the celebration of the TEC at Widus Hotel and Resort, Clark, Angeles City.

The Teacher Education Council: Background and purpose. Much change particularly in teacher education (TEd) occurred in the early 1990s. Republic Act (RA) 7784, enacted into law on Aug. 4, 1994, created the TEC along with the establishment of Centers of Excellence for TEd. TEC is meant to serve as a mechanism that facilitates collaboration between the pre-service process in TEd colleges and other stakeholders and in-service both public and private. Where before, the administration of both pre-service and in-service of TEd graduates were under the Education department, the establishment of the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) necessarily transferred administration of pre-service TEd to CHEd. The Department of Education (DepEd), previously the Department of Education, Culture and Sports or DECS, as a major “consumer” of TEd graduates relying on CHEd for the quality of teachers as the “producer” of TEd graduates. Obviously, TEC is meant to bridge the gap between “consumer” (DepEd) and “producer” (CHEd). Thus, consonant to its mandate, the TEC sets up national and regional programs and projects all meant to improve/update TEd quality. One hundred million pesos sourced from duty-free shop income, under the Department of Tourism, was appropriated for the initial organizational and developmental activities of TEd Centers and TEC.

TEC membership and administration. Section 5 of RA 7784 provides for 11 members with the Education Secretary as ex-officio chairman along with three other ex officio members — “a Commissioner of the CHEd, a representative of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), and the Chairman of the Professional Regulations Commission (PRC).” Three zonal representatives (Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao) and four for the basic disciplines (science, mathematics, language and social studies) compose the seven regular members, appointed by the President of the Philippines for a three-year term, subject to reappointment. They serve without compensation but are reimbursed actual and necessary expenses in carrying out their duties.

The Teacher Induction Program. An early and major initiative of the TEC in pioneering years was to craft and introduce a Teacher Induction Program (TIP). The first batch of TEC members conducted survey research of teacher in-service training in several Asian countries and in the United Kingdom and drew out the best features from this survey in crafting the TIP. Drawing from The Manila Times report, issue of July 31, 2018, the TIP as a process of inducting new public school teachers includes an orientation to the organizational set up and function of the DepEd including “DepEd mandates and programs, legal bases that clarify their rights, responsibilities and accountabilities as professional teachers.” Since 2006, when the TIP was piloted across the Philippines, the TIP has been “institutionalized to provide a systematic and comprehensive support system for newly hired teachers to immerse themselves in the public-school system offering basic education.” In its aim to prepare “new teachers to facilitate teaching and learning in the classroom,” the TIP has served “as an avenue to orient and improve knowledge, skills and attitude of every teacher to become intellectually and emotionally ready with improved competencies as professional teachers.” <https://www.manilatimesError! Hyperlink reference not valid.Awardees and organizing committee. To receive awards today, based on the list received from a member of the TEC Secretariat for this write-up, are: pioneer members of the TEC Secretariat, namely Llova O. Bulanon, Christian B. Maliwat, Frederick S. Gregorio, Lemuel C. Valles, Marian A. Anaclote, Vivien R. Gacula, Noel E. Salcedo and Eric T. Sarmiento; pioneer and present members Jun M. Garcia, Maricel B. Flores and Rex Augus Fernandez; former subject representatives: Aurora A. Franco (Science); Priscilla de Sagun and Gladys C. Nivera (Math); Josephine Cruz and Ronnie S. Mallari (Language) and Ronaldo B. Mactal (Social Studies). Zonal representatives Rosita L. Navarro, Paz Lucido and Brenda B. Corpuz (Luzon); Nilo E. Colinares and Purita Bilbao (Visayas), and yours truly and Amor Q. de Torres (Mindanao) and Teoticia C. Taguibao, Beatriz G. Torno and Marilette R. Almayda former TEC Executive Directors.

Also receiving awards are TEC partners and current subject and zonal representatives: Twila G. Punsalan and Soledad T. Lecaroz (development and finalization of TIP modules); Gina O. Gonong (the roll-out of DepEd Order 42, 2. 2017); Marilyn U. Balagtas (Department of Science and Technology training); Jennie V. Jocson (implementation of various pre-service Teacher Education projects). Current subject representatives awardees: Myrna B. Libutaque (Math); Lorina Y. Calingasan (Social Studies); Lourdes R. Baetiong (Language); Current zonal representatives awardees: Allan B. de Guzman (Luzon), Rita May P. Tagalog (Visayas) and Evelyn G. Chavez (Mindanao).

We, awardees, deeply thank Madam Education Secretary Dr. Leonor Magtolis Briones and the organizers of this anniversary celebration — TEC Secretariat members Rex Augus M. Fernandez, Rosanna Marie B. Balbuena, Jason B. Penafiel and Donnabel B. Bihasa, headed by TEC Executive Director Runvi V. Manguerra.

Email: ttumapon@liceo.edu.ph

Dr. Tumapon is at present Consultant for External Affairs and Internationalization and Professorial lecturer on Leadership, Management, Organization and Education at Liceo de Cagayan University, Cagayan de Oro City.

‘Libingan’ burial for fallen frontliners: Lawmaker

A party-list representative has sought for state honors and burial at the Libingan ng mga Bayani (Heroes Cemetery) for Coronavirus disease 2019 frontliners who...

Lawmaker appeals Caraga coronavirus testing facility

A lawmaker is pushing for the establishment of a coronavirus disease (Covid-19) testing facility in the Caraga Region to help assess and address the...

Taiwan demands apology from WHO chief over virus ‘slander’

Taiwan demanded an apology from the World Health Organization (WHO) chief on Thursday after he accused the island's government of leading personal attacks against...

Young army officer dies of suspected Covid symptoms

A Junior army officer has died after experiencing symptoms of the coronavirus disease (Covid-19), with his test results yet to be confirmed. Brig. Gen. Edgard...

As outbreaks flatten in places, Japan, India see more cases

NEW YORK: Coronavirus infections are spiking in Japan and creating hot spots in India's congested cities just as the US and some of the...

Today's Front Page