Saturday, May 15, 2021

FPH chief is MAP Man of the Year


Latest Stories

PH logs 6,784 new Covid-19 cases, recoveries drop to 2,900

THE Philippines has logged 6,784 new cases of coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) in the country while the number of...

Security audit of DITO pushed amid Chinese incursions

SENATOR Risa Hontiveros prodded the National Security Council anew to conduct a security audit of DITO Telecommunity, the third...

Duterte: PH ships in West Philippine Sea ‘won’t move an inch backward’

THE Philippine ships in the West Philippine Sea will not move an inch backward, President Rodrigo Duterte said following...

Duterte invites Enrile to discuss West Philippine Sea issues in ‘Talk to the People’ program

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has invited in his next televised address former senator Juan Ponce Enrile to discuss issues concerning...

GIR balloons to 3-month high at end-April

BOND issuances by the national government and higher gold prices increased the country’s gross international reserves (GIR) to a...

First Philippine Holdings Corp. (FPH) Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Federico “Piki” Lopez was hailed as the Management Man of the Year (MMY) for 2020 by the Management Association of the Philippines (MAP), two decades after his father, Oscar Lopez, was conferred the same award.

Piki serves as the 44th recipient of the distinction, which recognizes outstanding achievements of an individual, whether MAP member or not, who has exceptionally distinguished themselves in the practice of management.

First Philippine Holdings Corp. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Federico “Piki” Lopez is the Management Man of the Year for 2020. The award was presented by Management Association of the Philippines.

During the virtual awarding ceremony on Monday, MAP said Lopez pushed for the country’s transition to a low carbon economy, championed for the power industry’s deregulation, and steered the Lopez Group to the forefront of energy security and sustainability, and clean technologies for renewable energy and natural gas.

Lopez has also “set an example for Filipino managers through a track record of integrity, entrepreneurial excellence, professional competence and great leadership in his management career,” MAP said in the award’s citation.

“We are living in a time that calls for great paradigm shifts, and businesses that seek to thrive in this era must be able to reimagine and redesign themselves for this new world,” Lopez said in his speech.


“Businesses need to align themselves, their resources and their capabilities towards a mission that seeks to elevate everything they touch — their customers, employees, suppliers, contractors, the environment, communities and, of course, their investors,” he added.

The MMY 2020 search committee was chaired by 2019 MAP President Riza Mantaring, while the MMY 2020 judging committee was headed by 2008 MAP President and MMY 2013 awardee Ed Chua.

Previous recipients of the MAP MMY award include Jaime Zobel de Ayala, Alfonso Yuchengo, Henry Sy Sr., Tony Tan Caktiong, Manny Pangilinan, George Ty, Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala, Teresita Sy-Coson, John Gokongwei Jr., Fernando Zobel de Ayala and Nestor Tan, among others.




Today's Front Page