Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Lorenzo retained as golf chief


Latest Stories

Covid cases in PH dip to 8,571

THE country's new cases of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) in a single day dropped slightly for the first...

US recommends ‘pause’ for J&J vaccine over clot reports

WASHINGTON, D.C.: The United States is recommending a “pause” in administration of the single-dose Johnson & Johnson Covid-19 vaccine...

WHO urges halt to sale of live wild mammals in food markets

GENEVA: The World Health Organization called on Tuesday for a halt to the sale of live wild mammals in...

Voter registration suspended in NCR plus bubble, 3 other areas

VOTER registration remains suspended in the National Capital Region (NCR) plus 4 bubble; Santiago City in Isabela and the...

Duterte certifies as urgent 3 economic bills

President Rodrigo Duterte has certified as urgent the proposed laws amending the Public Service Act, the Foreign Investments Act...

Martin Lorenzo, Aurelio Montinola and Al Panlilio kept their posts as president, chairman and treasurer, respectively, of the National Golf Association of the Philippines (NGAP), while Rolly Romero is the new vice president after the NGAP Annual Council Meeting and Biennial elections at the Alabang Country Club.

PROUD CHAMPIONS CLYDE MONDILLA (third from left) poses with his trophy and with (from left) Solaire Resort & Casino president and COO Thomas Arasi, low amateur Jolo Magcalayo and National Golf Association of the Philippines president Martin Lorenzo after ruling the 101st Solaire Philippine Open at The Country Club last Saturday. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

Romero of Camp Aguinaldo Golf Club topped the polls with 117 votes, followed by Jose Iñigo of Riviera with 114 votes; Paul Shin Chan of Sherwood Hills Golf Club, 107; Panlilio of Manila Golf, 95; Vicente Santos of Sta. Lucia, 94; and Montinola, also of Manila Golf, and Jose Dagdagan of Anvaya Cove and Ayala Greenfield, 93 votes.

Lorenzo, who represents Luisita Golf and Country Club, Del Monte and Sta. Elena, actually drew 91 votes but was given a fresh mandate by the board to head the restart of the country’s governing body for the sport’s program held back by the global health crisis last year.

Completing the 11-man board are Kit Angeles (90) of Eastridge, Jake Corporal (88) of Alabang CC, and Peng de Tagle (85) of Manila Southwoods and Camp John Hay.

With Lorenzo, whose Lapanday Foods Corp. acquired Luisita GCC in 2016, taking over the NGAP helm in 2018, the Philippines swept the individual and team gold medals in women’s play in the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta and the 2019 SEA Games in Manila.


But the NGAP managed to stage just one tournament last year, the National Stroke Play Championships ruled by South Korean Min Wook Gwon and rising local star Rianne Malixi at Riviera in Silang, Cavite, as the Covid-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of its calendar of events the rest of 2020, including the centerpiece Philippine Junior Amateur Open and the PHL Am Open Match Play.



Today's Front Page