Monday, May 17, 2021

Maguindanao plebiscite slated in August


Latest Stories

PH logs 5,979 new Covid cases

The country posted 5,979 new cases of Covid-19 on Monday, and a higher number of fresh recoveries -- 6,602. The...

Sanofi, GSK say Covid-19 vaccine shows positive result

PARIS: French pharmaceuticals giant Sanofi and Britain's GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) reported on Monday "strong immune responses" in early tests of...

Governors, mayors placed in A1 vaccine priority

Governors and mayors jumped from A4 to A1 vaccine priority after the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of...

Metro residents warned vs extreme heat

THE weather agency on Monday advised the public to stay indoors as it warned that the heat index in...

DoH to study use of vaccine booster shots

The Department of Health will hold clinical trials on the use of vaccines as booster shots for those who...

MIDSAYAP, North Cotabato: Maguindanao Gov. Bai Mariam Sangki-Mangudadatu said in an interview that the plebiscite for the division of the province of Maguindanao may be conducted on the first week of August 2021.

Sangki-Mangudadatu believes that residents of Maguindanao will support the plebiscite as the provincial government aims to further strengthen the development of the province via the division.

The provincial government of Maguindanao allocated P120 million in funds for the conduct of the plebiscite.

According to the governor, Maguindanao has been left behind in terms of economy and stability compared with former Kutawato empires such as Sultan Kudarat, North Cotabato, South Cotabato and Sarangani.

If “yes” votes win in the plebiscite, the first district of Maguindanao shall be called “Maguindanao del Norte” and the second district will become “Maguindanao del Sur.”

Maguindanao del Norte will be composed of the municipalities of Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay. Its seat of government will be Datu Odin Sinsuat.


Maguindanao del Sur will be comprised by Ampatuan, Buluan, Datu Abdulla Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Sharif Aguak, Sharif Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi. Its seat of government will be Buluan.

Last March 13, a plebiscite was held in Palawan to consent the province’s residents on the proposal to divide Palawan into three separate provinces: Palawan del Norte, Palawan del Sur, and Palawan Oriental.

The “no” votes prevailed, rejecting the proposal. It was the first election held in the country during the time of pandemic.



Today's Front Page