THE two sports federations responsible for winning medals in the Tokyo Olympics will be feted in San Miguel Corp.-Philippine Sportswriters Association (SMC-PSA) Annual Awards Night on March 14.

The Samahang Weightlifting ng Pilipinas (SWP) and the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines (ABAP) will be honored with the National Sports Association of the Year Award for their contributions in ensuring the Philippines' most successful Olympic campaign in history.

Hidilyn Diaz, the weightlifter, gave the country its first Olympic gold medal in 97 years whereas boxers Carlo Paalam, Nesthy Petecio and Eumir Marcial contributed the three other medals for Team Philippines.

SWP president Monico Puentevella and ABAP president Ricky Vargas are expected to accept the prize on behalf of their respective organizations in the special gala event at the Diamond Hotel.

It was the first time the weightlifting association has been recognized by the country's oldest media institution, while ABAP has received the same honor for the third year in a row.

Get the latest news
delivered to your inbox
Sign up for The Manila Times’ daily newsletters
By signing up with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Diaz, meanwhile, was named Athlete of the Year.

Paalam and Petecio, who won silver medals, and Marcial, who bagged a bronze, will each receive a major award for their achievements.