THE Embassy of Israel in the Philippines donated NUF water filtration systems to Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA) which were distributed to Typhoon "Odette"-stricken areas in Mindanao.

The Israeli-made water filtration systems were delivered to Del Carmen and San Isidro in Siargao Island and Cagdianao and Basilisa in Dinagat Islands.

"Water is life. This donation is Israel's initiative to support and promote access to potable water in the Philippines. When Typhoon Odette struck the areas in Mindanao, Israel saw the need for clean, drinking water. We coordinated with MinDA to help identify which areas we could extend this assistance," Ambassador Ilan Fluss said during the turnover ceremony.

"Israel's innovation and technology can contribute to solving some of the challenges of the Philippines," he added.

The Israeli-made technology is a portable crank-operated machine capable of taking water from a polluted source such as a river and purifying up to 400 liters per hour, which is enough to supply all the daily water needs of 300 to 400 people.

Get the latest news
delivered to your inbox
Sign up for The Manila Times’ daily newsletters
By signing up with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Prior to this, the embassy sent immediate relief efforts in December to Cebu, Bohol and Siargao, which were also affected by the typhoon. "The embassy saw the urgent needs of the people. We donated food packs, hygiene kits, water filtration systems and solar panels to these affected areas," Deputy Chief of Mission Nir Balzam said.

MinDA and local government units in Mindanao received a training program by Israel's Center for International Cooperation (Mashav) in 2021 for water conservation and management. This joint initiative is part of the ongoing partnership of the Israel Embassy and Mashav with MinDA.

Also present during the turnover ceremony were MinDA Secretary Maria Belen Acosta and Deputy Executive Director Romeo Montenegro, Surigao del Norte Gov. Francisco Matugas, Dinagat Islands Gov. Arlene Bag-ao and other government officials.