(UPDATE) THE Supreme Court on Tuesday ordered former National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-Elcac) spokesman Loraine Marie Badoy to show cause why she should not be cited in contempt for allegedly threatening Manila Regional Trial Court (RTC) Branch 19 Judge Marlo Magdoza-Malagar.

The Supreme Court issued the order during its full court deliberations of the administrative case it initiated motu proprio on the statements made by Badoy. The high court gave the former NTF-Elcac a non-extendible period of 30 calendar days from the time the resolution is served on her.

The court said Badoy must respond under oath whether or not she posted or caused the posting of the statements in any or all of her social media accounts attacking the September 21 decision rendered by Magdoza-Malagar dismissing the petition filed by the Department of Justice (DoJ) on Feb. 21, 2018 to legally declare as terror groups the Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP) and its armed wing, the New People's Army (NPA).

The high court said she must also respond whether or not her social media post "encouraged more violent language against the judge concerned in any or all of her social media platforms."

In addition, Badoy must also argue whether or not her post, "in the context of social media and in the experience of similar incendiary comments here or abroad, was a clear incitement to produce violent actions against a judge and is likely to produce such act."

Get the latest news
delivered to your inbox
Sign up for The Manila Times’ daily newsletters
By signing up with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Also on Tuesday, legal luminaries filed a petition calling on the Supreme Court to cite Badoy for indirect contempt over the threats she made against Judge Magdoza-Malagar.

The 38-page petition asked the Supreme Court to declare Badoy guilty of indirect contempt.

The petitioners were led by former Philippine Bar Association president Rico Domingo and Ateneo Human Rights Center executive director Ray Paolo Santiago. Other petitioners include former Ateneo School of Government dean Antonio La Viña, Lyceum of the Philippines University College of Law Dean Soledad Deriquito-Mawis, Adamson University College of Law Dean Anna Maria Abad, and Rodel Taton, dean of the Graduate School of Law-San Sebastian College-Recoletos.